Game Search




Forum Search

 
Pages: 1 ... 78 79 [80] 81 82 ... 91
 Print 

Author Topic: Game Anyone Directors  (Read 296303 times)
Full Player


Posts: 901
Videos: 1,080
Guides: 67

137,238 gold
Give Gold
I'm best at space. Spaaaceee!


View Profile
« Reply #790 on: November 26, 2011, 08:17:07 PM »

what about does games that are only a few years old and can't be played in 1280 x 720p.
Most games that are only a few years old can be played in 1280x720. Heck, I'm recording an 11 year old game right now, in 720p. But all in all, if you can't do commentary, and you can't do high quality videos, then they better be pretty spectacular Tongue
Logged

Director
Full Player


Posts: 505
Videos: 618
Guides: 39

331,272 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #791 on: November 26, 2011, 10:00:02 PM »

what about does games that are only a few years old and can't be played in 1280 x 720p.

I believe it still does not matter it has to at least be rendered so that it is in HD, but dont take 100% of my words because I can still be wrong until confirmed by Mace or one of the admins.  Tongue
Logged
Average Player


Posts: 364
Videos: 1,272
Guides: 34

27,787 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #792 on: November 26, 2011, 10:47:05 PM »

Most games that are only a few years old can be played in 1280x720. Heck, I'm recording an 11 year old game right now, in 720p. But all in all, if you can't do commentary, and you can't do high quality videos, then they better be pretty spectacular Tongue
videos not in 1280 x 720p can still look pretty. im recording a 5 year old game and it's resolution is only 1024 x 768p. i don't know if this rule for directors is still around but, frozenfoxy, told me if the game can't be played in 720p it doesn't really matter because you can't do anything to change it. though, i can change the video's resolution by useing a few zoom tool, but that's gonna kill the quaility.
Logged






Average Player


Posts: 384
Videos: 202
Guides: 13

15,750 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #793 on: November 26, 2011, 11:48:54 PM »

videos not in 1280 x 720p can still look pretty. im recording a 5 year old game and it's resolution is only 1024 x 768p. i don't know if this rule for directors is still around but, frozenfoxy, told me if the game can't be played in 720p it doesn't really matter because you can't do anything to change it. though, i can change the video's resolution by useing a few zoom tool, but that's gonna kill the quaility.

If a game plays in 1024 x 768, and you record it that way, and later stretch to 1280x720, few will notice. Maybe that things are a bit wide, but shouldn't be too bad.

However, 90% of PC games, has an .cfg/.ini/.whatever where you can manually change the resolution. You can find out for each game by googling "gamename widescreen".

If this post has a shitload of wrong spelled words, ops. Tired.
Logged

I used to have a signature, but then I took an arrow to the knee. 
Average Player


Posts: 364
Videos: 1,272
Guides: 34

27,787 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #794 on: November 27, 2011, 01:42:21 AM »

If a game plays in 1024 x 768, and you record it that way, and later stretch to 1280x720, few will notice. Maybe that things are a bit wide, but shouldn't be too bad.

However, 90% of PC games, has an .cfg/.ini/.whatever where you can manually change the resolution. You can find out for each game by googling "gamename widescreen".

If this post has a shitload of wrong spelled words, ops. Tired.
it's a pain in the ass getting the right info for the game, so it's not worth wasteing time on it. but im probably gonna do it sooner or later while im mixing around with my videos.
Logged






Average Player


Posts: 384
Videos: 202
Guides: 13

15,750 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #795 on: November 27, 2011, 02:03:33 AM »

it's a pain in the ass getting the right info for the game, so it's not worth wasteing time on it. but im probably gonna do it sooner or later while im mixing around with my videos.

Once you learn how it works, it'll take you like 30sec to fix it on most games. Getting the info is also easy, considering it's 90% of the time about like this:

width="1280"
height="1024"
r_mode=something

and you change res to what you want, then r_mode to -1.

It's a bitch when you must edit registry etc tho. That can also be semi-dangerous it you're a loose canon.
Logged

I used to have a signature, but then I took an arrow to the knee. 
Full Player


Posts: 901
Videos: 1,080
Guides: 67

137,238 gold
Give Gold
I'm best at space. Spaaaceee!


View Profile
« Reply #796 on: November 27, 2011, 10:18:56 AM »

You dont HAVE to force a game to 720p. Like it is stated, for older games, where it's difficult to get good resolutions, just play them as is. I went through a hell of a time getting NOLF (coming monday! Tongue) to 720p. It was doable. The biggest problem with older games is that they are in the 4:3 standard, with no real widescreen support, so of course this gets taken into consideration.
Logged

Director
Master Player


Posts: 1,382
Videos: 4,387
Guides: 242

16,367 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #797 on: November 28, 2011, 12:04:33 AM »

If you want to take advantage of the HD encoder, instead of the SD one (because it's a ton better), render in 1280x720 but keep the black bars. Don't stretch the frame out because then it'll look weird with elongated characters and whatnot. If you want an example of the former, look at my Headhunter videos.
Logged
Average Player


Posts: 364
Videos: 1,272
Guides: 34

27,787 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #798 on: November 29, 2011, 09:39:21 AM »

If you want to take advantage of the HD encoder, instead of the SD one (because it's a ton better), render in 1280x720 but keep the black bars. Don't stretch the frame out because then it'll look weird with elongated characters and whatnot. If you want an example of the former, look at my Headhunter videos.
i took a look on headhunter and yea it looks ok. but it's exclusive and GA's HD encoder is better and youtubes is not, so it would still look like crap. but i think im wrong so i need to ask about the encoder.

does the GA HD encoder only work when you upload to GA, or will it still encode videos that are embedded from youtube? or do you need to be a director befor it encodes embedded videos?
Logged






Average Player


Posts: 384
Videos: 202
Guides: 13

15,750 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #799 on: November 29, 2011, 03:04:08 PM »

I can say 99,99% sure embedded videos are not encoded here. They are hosted on youtube, only showed here.
Logged

I used to have a signature, but then I took an arrow to the knee. 
 
Pages: 1 ... 78 79 [80] 81 82 ... 91
 Print 

 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Page created in 1.222 seconds with 18 queries.