Game Search




Forum Search

Achievement Guide
Silent Hill 2
"Hard to Hit"

Receive less than 500 points...
 
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
 Print 

Author Topic: My HD 720p rendering settings in Vegas  (Read 49410 times)
Full Player


Posts: 901
Videos: 1,080
Guides: 67

137,238 gold
Give Gold
I'm best at space. Spaaaceee!


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2011, 01:01:28 AM »

I ditched the idea of using 1080p for two reasons:

- I believe its very uncommon for people to increase the quality past 480. Even 720p is a rare choice (might be more popular with Youtube's new window sizes)
- Recording huge resolutions means huge file sizes, which results in faster space usage. If I record a game in 720p, I'll usually get 1 minute for 800 MB in raw footage. If I pump it up to 1080p, I'll be looking at several GB per minute.
- (and really, as a third, smaller resolution helps older computers)

With my render settings, a random 18 minute video shows 385 MB with 720p. I guess I'll share:

Render to Windows Media Video V11 (.wmv)

CBR
High def, 1280x720
25 FPS
Smoothness: 80%
3 M bitrate

Works quite well for me Smiley
Logged

Morocco  Lumi
Average Player


Posts: 336
Videos: 290
Guides: 15

17,616 gold
Give Gold
I eat babies :P


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2011, 01:13:34 AM »

I ditched the idea of using 1080p for two reasons:

- I believe its very uncommon for people to increase the quality past 480. Even 720p is a rare choice (might be more popular with Youtube's new window sizes)
- Recording huge resolutions means huge file sizes, which results in faster space usage. If I record a game in 720p, I'll usually get 1 minute for 800 MB in raw footage. If I pump it up to 1080p, I'll be looking at several GB per minute.
- (and really, as a third, smaller resolution helps older computers)

With my render settings, a random 18 minute video shows 385 MB with 720p. I guess I'll share:

Render to Windows Media Video V11 (.wmv)

CBR
High def, 1280x720
25 FPS
Smoothness: 80%
3 M bitrate

Works quite well for me Smiley

Same thing here with Adobe Premiere , i render 16-20 minutes for like 260-400 MB depending on game with MP4 format as file format & 29.97 FPS
Logged

Subscribe to my Youtube channel ! http://www.youtube.com/user/Arclight44

Follow me on Twitter ! http://twitter.com/overlordlumi

Current LPs : Legend of Mana (PSX)
cheeki breeki, iv damke
Average Player


Posts: 315
Videos: 4,968
Guides: 195

3,439 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #22 on: August 21, 2011, 05:00:09 AM »

Anyone have recommended settings for 1080i rendering? Im not sure if its even worth it uploading vids in 1080i im guessing its not since not alot of people would watch it at that resolution but i want to check and see if the filesize is alot bigger cuz if its not then might aswell upload at 1080i.
I have some. Deinterlacing method is up to you, but Yadif is a very high quality one. I'd suggest a MINIMUM video bitrate of 6144 kb/s (6 mb/s exactly) and audio bitrate of 192 kb/s. That's if you go CBR. For VBR, I can't really help because none of my programs offer good control over VBR settings. A more ideal bitrate would be like... 15 mb/s video and 256 kb/s audio, roughly the same settings as what youtube stores 1080p videos at, but then you get massive video sizes and will run into problems with the youtube basic uploader and I don't know if advanced uploader has been fixed yet or not.

1080 is worth it on youtube at the very least for a higher end-product bitrate quality. I mean, I can watch 720p youtube and notice the artifacts and discoloration in grey and dark areas, while 1080p content is often practically crystal-clear. It's great. (And if I had an upload speed greater than 1 mb/s AND stronger hardware AND a monitor capable of greater than 1280x1024 resolution, I'd make ALL my PC stuff 1080. Then again, if I were that fortunate, I'd probably be able to do the same for console stuff and- I'm getting off topic.)

Also, you people are crazy. Tongue Here I am thinking I dropped my bitrate settings a lot to cope with my lackluster internet (mostly the fact that uploading severely throttles my downrate.... though I can sometimes actually watch a livestream or 480p youtube content in a real-time stream while doing it. The internet is confusing.), and it seems they're actually higher than most people here use!
Logged

Average Player


Posts: 296
Videos: 91
Guides: 8

19,479 gold
Give Gold
Hey guys, the name's AJ. I love LP and golf a lot!


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: August 21, 2011, 05:19:15 AM »

Why would you even think of rendering your video in anything less that 29.97?, and with the smoothness not all the way up? It kills the fluidity of the video and the lack of smoothness combined with the 25 fps just makes it that much more choppy.

I render at 59.94fps and with 6 M bitrate and 720p and never have a file size issue in .wmv
Logged

Full Player


Posts: 901
Videos: 1,080
Guides: 67

137,238 gold
Give Gold
I'm best at space. Spaaaceee!


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: August 21, 2011, 09:47:53 AM »

Why would you even think of rendering your video in anything less that 29.97?, and with the smoothness not all the way up? It kills the fluidity of the video and the lack of smoothness combined with the 25 fps just makes it that much more choppy.

I render at 59.94fps and with 6 M bitrate and 720p and never have a file size issue in .wmv
With this, how long do you take to render a video (say, a 15 minute video) and how big is the file size?
Logged

Average Player


Posts: 296
Videos: 91
Guides: 8

19,479 gold
Give Gold
Hey guys, the name's AJ. I love LP and golf a lot!


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: August 21, 2011, 01:11:28 PM »

The file size for me would be around 600mb and probably 30 minutes
Logged

The Caped Crusader
Full Player


Posts: 741
Videos: 90
Guides: 6

18,150 gold
Give Gold
Let's Go Space Truckin'


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: August 21, 2011, 02:16:27 PM »

Why would you even think of rendering your video in anything less that 29.97?, and with the smoothness not all the way up? It kills the fluidity of the video and the lack of smoothness combined with the 25 fps just makes it that much more choppy.

I render at 59.94fps and with 6 M bitrate and 720p and never have a file size issue in .wmv

The PAL (european) standard is 25 fps. Rendering in 29.97 would do nothing for the "smoothness" of the video in that case. I've also rendered at 20 fps before, as a fix for older games where sprites "flicker" really fast. You know how sometimes in an old game when you get hit, the character will kind of flash afterwards? In a lot of games this flashing happens 60 times per second, meaning when you upload 30 fps the sprite will either be completely solid, or completely invisible. 20 fps ensures this effect occurs and keeps you from not even seeing your character for half the video.

Also there's no point in rendering at anything higher than 30 fps, because of the final destination of our videos. When you upload to YouTube or GA, the frame rate will be capped at 30 fps. If you upload a 60 fps video, every other frame will just get cut out anyway.
Logged


The secret to good quality videos:
I could use the S-Video splitter to my Dazzle for me to have better HD quality.
cheeki breeki, iv damke
Average Player


Posts: 315
Videos: 4,968
Guides: 195

3,439 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #27 on: August 22, 2011, 03:30:09 PM »

25 FPS wouldn't be choppy at all, at least not for watching. The PAL standard for film is 25 FPS and NTSC is 24. 60FPS is awesome to watch and play in (as my camera's 1080i mode and relatively useless "720p: 60FPS" mode have shown me) but until there's a video website that doesn't cap at 30FPS (or if you want to plop the videos on i.e. Mediafire for download in addition to or in lieu of a streaming site) it's kind of useless to render in. Useless to record in as well unless your computer can average or surpass 60FPS while recording and you don't want FRAPS to do its stupid soft-locking framerate thing at 30.
Logged

Starter
Posts: 2
Videos: 0
Guides: 0

15,050 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #28 on: September 18, 2011, 05:49:50 AM »

Nobody can help with the nkdata problem in network rendering conditions? I am still trapped wiyh that problem. ".nk" file is saved in the master directory but packed and send to slave. So the all process is stopped because of that...
 
thanx if someone may help
Logged
Semi-Noob


Posts: 27
Videos: 125
Guides: 4

29,701 gold
Give Gold

View Profile
« Reply #29 on: November 04, 2011, 03:33:09 AM »

Thanks for the settings! I've been trying to find something like this and it's really nice to see it written down somewhere. I appreciate you sharing the outcome of all your hard trial and error work.   Smiley
Logged
 
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
 Print 

 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Page created in 0.061 seconds with 17 queries.