Why should I sign up?
Get involved with the community.

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: How to make a Lets Play of a PC game.  (Read 12690 times)
Full Noob

Videos: 148
Guides: 7

19 credits
Give Credits
Youtube: SkittlesAreTasty

View Profile WWW
« on: September 02, 2009, 07:12:56 AM »

First I would like to say that while I am a newbie LPer, I DO know how to record good quality and sync it right.

Alright so a lot of people have trouble with recording so let me explain how I personally choose to do it.

Step 1: Get FRAPS, the full version. I dont care if you pirate it or buy it, but you NEED the full version.
Step 2: Set up FRAPS's hotkeys so that they dont conflict with the game that you are trying to record. I use F9.
Step 3: Get an editing program, whether it be Sony Vegas or Adobe Premier, it really doesnt matter. I use Vegas, so that it what I will be covering.
Step 4: Now this one is a problem a lot of people have. Getting it to record game audio AND your voice. Some people like to turn on their speakers and put the mic near them. What I do is since I have vista, FRAPS will detect a sound input called "Vista Direct Stream" which will record ALL of our PC sounds. Now for my mic I use Windows Sound Recorder in the Accessories folder of the start menu.
Step 5: Now that you have your audio set up, you may be wondering "Hey Alex, when are you gonna shut the f*ck up and let me play?" Well I have an answer for you. Right about now Cheesy. Launch your game and make sure you can see the FRAPS FPS counter. if not keep pressing F12 and see if it shows. If not then you are basically screwed because FRAPS cant record that game. If it DOES show, then make sure your mic audio is recording on your separate program, start recording, and have a ball!